Grandparents….

William H Bergermann…..Grandpa died when I was in high school. My brother and I spent tons of time with my paternal grandparents as they lived close to us. I have fond memories of Grandpa planting gardens, cutting grass, trimming trees, playing ball with us, driving his big blue car, taking us to church, watching hockey on CBC (but changing to the other channel when Don Cherry came on), growing and carving a monster pumpkin at Halloween, the list could go on. Unfortunately, Grandpa was diagnosed with Alzheimers and as a result, I have many more memories of Grandpa as a confused man. A man who would hide his wallet and dentures, roam the little streets of Muenster, walk out to his brothers farm in the middle of a snowstorm on Christmas day, throwing the ball (which contained my hamster) accross the living room, not recognizing his children and grandchildren, and finally refusing to eat cause he thought that he had just eaten. I’m very sad that my most vivid memories of him were when he was sick. But, I have many, many pictures of Grandpa and I (and my brother and cousins) that help me remember the good times.

Neville Keith Dowson……Grandpa Dowson died when I was in Gr.7. He was a war veteran, a fighter plane mechanic. He was an englishman through and through. I remember even less of this Grandpa, because they lived in Edmonton (we saw they a couple times a year) and he died when I was younger. I remember the camping trips the best, as that was one of Grandpa’s favorite past-times. I also remember him “checking the backs of his eyelids for cracks” aka “napping”. I remember him telling my Nana once that he should get what he wants how he wants it (in reference to his dinner) because when he was in the war, he took what he was given, which wasn’t much, and now he deserves the best. Grandpa died of colon cancer. We arrived in Edmonton hours after he passed, too late to say goodbye. But, my uncle suggested that it was better that way, because now we have memories of what he looked like healthy and we won’t remember him being sick. I don’t know…..I still wish we could have said goodbye.

Betty Doreen Dowson……Nana died when I was 20 yrs old and Ariana was 10months old. I remember Nana the best of all my deceased grandparents. She was such an amazing woman. Strong, brave, and smart. Loving, caring and understanding. She truly knew what it meant to be a parent and grandparent. She had a laugh that was contagious and a smile to match. She always had tons of projects on the go, knitting, sewing, cross-stitch, crafts, etc. So many memories of her….too many to list. Nana died from cancer (lung, hip, and brain). I remember her in the hospital bed, but I try not to think about what she looked like then…because that was not my Nana…..My Nana was a great woman and I think about her all the time.

I am lucky enough to still have one grandparent left, Veronica Bergermann. I’m sad that I live across the country and I can’t see her much anymore. But I have many fond memories of my childhood with Grandma and I’m so happy that she got to meet both my children. I must go and write her a letter.